2015/03/19 – ASM Assembly Systems and TUM Asia

DSC_0172

Our day started quite early at 7.30 a.m. and with a temperature of 30°C with 100% air humidity. We went to visit ASM Assembly Systems by MRT, which is the Singaporean subway. This company is an international active enterprise for pick-and-place machines and solutions. One well known customer is Foxconn that places electric elements on printed boards of the iPhone with the help of ASM machines. We visited the production that especially made the hearts of our electrical engineers leap for joy. Afterwards the heads of the different departments presented us their fields of action. We would like to say thank you for the warm welcome once more.

Without a little break we headed directly to the Nanyang Technological University (NTU) by taxi. During a quick lunch we admired the impressive campus. This is also, where the project TUM Create is located, which is a cooperation with the Technische Universität München (TUM). The main topic of this cooperation is the electro mobility of the future. One award-winning project is the electrical taxi EVA. Due to the fact that 30% of the public transportation is fulfilled by taxis, it makes sense to develop a vehicle adapted to the special needs of a taxi in the tropical area. Of course we had to inspect this electric vehicle thoroughly. Afterwards we visited TUM Asia, which is the first foreign subsidiary of a German University. It offers local students the possibility to study courses of the TUM according to German standards. A professor from Munich told us many worth knowing facts concerning the international cooperation. Besides that some students showed us around the impressive campus.

To end this day we visited the famous Marina Bay Sands Hotel. On the rooftop bar we enjoyed some cocktails and beers as well as one of the most exciting views over the city of Singapore. Afterwards we went to one of the many food courts for dinner.

DSC_0173

19.03.2015 – ASM Assembly Systems und TUM Asia

DSC_0172

Unser Tag begann sehr früh um 7:30 Uhr bei 30°C und 100% Luftfeuchtigkeit. Mit der singapurischen U-Bahn MRT ging es zu der Firma ASM Assembly Systems. Diese Firma ist ein international tätiges Unternehmen für Bestückmaschinen und -lösungen für Elektronikanwendungen. Ein bekannter Kunde ist Foxconn, welche mithilfe von ASM-Bestückungsautomaten die Leiterplatten des iPhones mit den nötigen Bauteilen belegt. Bei ASM wurde uns die Fertigung gezeigt, welche vor allem die Herzen der Elektrotechniker unter uns höher schlagen ließ. Anschließend haben uns die einzelnen Abteilungsleiter jeweils ihre Tätigbereiche präsentiert. An dieser Stelle möchten wir uns nochmals für die äußerst herzliche Gastfreundschaft bedanken.

Mit dem Taxi ging es direkt weiter an den Campus der Nanyang Technological University (NTU). Bei einem schnell besorgten Mittagessen konnten wir den für deutsche Verhältnisse sehr imposanten Campus bewundern. Auf diesem Campus ist das Projekt TUM Create, das in Kooperation mit der Technische Universität München betreut wird, angesiedelt. Es beschäftigt sich mit Fragen der Elektromobilität der Zukunft. Ein preisgekröntes Projekt ist das Elektrotaxi EVA. Da in Singapur 30% des öffentlichen Verkehrs mithilfe von Taxis durchgeführt wird, ist es sinnvoll ein speziell auf die Anforderungen eines Taxis im tropischen Raum ausgerichtetes Fahrzeug zu entwickeln. Das Elektrofahrzeug konnte von uns dazu besichtigt werden. Danach besuchten wir die TUM Asia. Sie ist die erste Auslands-Dependance einer deutsche Universität. Sie bietet für Studenten aus der Region die Möglichkeit, Studienfächer der TU München nach deutschen Standards zu studieren. Ein Professor aus München erzählte viele wissenwerte Fakten über die internationale Zusammenarbeit. Studenten zeigten uns zudem den mehr als beeindruckenden Campus.

Um den Tag abzuschließen, besuchten wir das berühmte Marina Bay Sands Hotel. Auf dem Dach genossen wir Cocktails bei einem der aufregendsten Blicke auf die Stadt. Hungrig ging es danach zu einem der zahlreichen Foodcourts der Stadt.

DSC_0173