Singapore

joinbrand / Pixabay

joinbrand / Pixabay

Singapore, the „Lion City“, is a city-state located in the south of the Malay Peninsula and was founded in 1819 as an English colony. It has more than 5.3 million inhabitants and the highest population density of all Southeast Asian states (6,723 inh./km²).

Due to its location along the highly frequented shipping route between Europe and China, Singapore has risen to be one of the most important trans-shipment points in Southeast Asia. It also can be seen as a great melting pot for different cultures and ethnicities as they all come together to work in this rapidly expanding centre for trade and commerce. This expansion has contributed to Singapore being now considered as one of the “Four Asian Tigers”.

The wealth of the city is embodied by the changing cityscape. What was previously a city characterised by religious buildings of different faiths and distinct city neighbourhoods such as Chinatown and Little India, is now dominated by skyscrapers and vanity projects like the “Marina Bay Sands” or the Formula 1 racetrack with the adjoining “Singapore Flyer”, one of the highest Ferris wheels of the world.

Many companies are attracted by the wealth of Singapore. For that reason, every global player has an establishment there. As a result of rising real estate prices and wages, as well as the numerous universities and educational institutions, Singapore is increasingly growing as a site for service and research. One example is the “German Institute for Science and Technology”, which was a result of a collaboration between the Technical University Munich, the National University of Singapore and the Singapore Institute of Technology.

While the economic growth certainly is important to Singapore’s development, the natural landscapes receives equal attention, appreciation and affection. Apart from the partially still existing rain forest, there are several botanic gardens, e.g. the modern “Gardens by the Bay”, one of the most visited tourist attractions in Singapore.

City team:

Singapur_1

Simon Porsch, Alexander Raab, David Brandes

Singapur

joinbrand / Pixabay

joinbrand / Pixabay

Singapur, die „Löwenstadt“, ist ein Stadtstaat, der südlich der malaiischen Halbinsel liegt. Die 1819 als englische Kolonie gegründete Stadt beherbergt heute mehr als 5,3 Millionen Menschen und hat die höchste Bevölkerungsdichte aller südostasiatischen Staaten (6.723 Einw./km2).

Dank ihrer Lage entlang der verkehrsträchtigen Schifffahrtswege zwischen Europa und China wurde Singapur ein wichtiger Warenumschlagsplatz und ein ethnischer Schmelztiegel. Schnell stieg die Stadt dadurch zu einer bedeutenden Handelsmetropole auf und gehört heute zu der Gruppe der „Tigerstaaten“.

Der Reichtum der Stadt lässt sich gut am Stadtbild erkennen. War dieses früher geprägt durch Bauwerke bzw. Viertel der verschiedenen ethnischen Gruppen (Tempelanlagen, Moscheen bzw. z.B. Chinatown oder Little India), dominieren in den moderneren Viertel Wolkenkratzer oder Prestige-Projekte wie das „Marina Bay Sands“ oder die Formel 1-Strecke mit dem angrenzenden „Singapore Flyer“, eines der größten Riesenräder der Welt.

Viele Firmen werden von dem Reichtum Singapurs angezogen. So besitzt jeder größere Global Player inzwischen eine Niederlassung in Singapur. Durch steigende Grundstückspreise und Löhne, als auch durch die zahlreichen Universitäten und Bildungseinrichtungen, etabliert sich Singapur zunehmend als Dienstleistungs- und Forschungsstandort. Beispiel dafür ist das durch eine Kollaboration der „Technischen Universität München“, der „National University of Singapore“ und dem „Singapore Institute for Technology“ entstandene „German Institute for Science and Technology“.

Neben dem wirtschaftlichen Profit nimmt aber auch die Natur einen großen Stellenwert in Singapur ein. Abgesehen von den zum Teil noch vorhandenen Urwald besitzt die Stadt auch mehrere botanische Gärten, der modernste Vertreter hiervon stellt der „Gardens by the Bay“ dar.

Städteteam:

Singapur_1

Simon Porsch, Alexander Raab, David Brandes